places to go 12.19.10

• On dressing like a Stay At Home Mom in order to get more respect and better care for one’s children, Women in Disguise:

“So I lie. Well, actually I don’t really lie, I just don’t dress the part. It’s like being undercover to see how the other half live. I am proud that I am a working mother […] but I do realize that in some situations I am clearly labeled before I walk in the door.

In my high heels, black suit and patten leather purse, I am a working mother who drops her children off at daycare. In my jeans, flats and diaper bag I am a mother concerned about her child and willing/able to invest the time in their care.”

• Also, I wrote a guest post for Shakesville a few days ago that got a positive reaction from that crowd and ended up being reposted by a number of people on Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

